End of an Era

Today at roughly 5.45 PM, my PS3 passed away. The display suddenly went all red-black and fuzzy and finally the blue processing light went off. 😥

I am undecided whether or not to repair it since the launch date of the PS4 is so near. The only games I have yet to complete on the PS3 are Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories and the upcoming Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster in early 2014 (the original Final Fantasy X and X-2 I have completed on the PS2). It doesn’t look very worthwhile to repair my PS3 since no new games that I really want to play on the PS3 are going to be released.

Both Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn and Diable 3 will also be released on the PS4, should I choose to play them in the future.

I won’t be buying a PS4 until some decent titles are released. At the moment, the launch title list look very disappointing. No RPGs at all.

In memory of my PS3, here is the top five list of my favourite PS3 games of all time.

  1. Tales of Graces f (440 hours played, platinum)
  2. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (219 hours played, 1 Daedric Artifact away from platinum)
  3. Dragon Age: Origins (116 hours played, platinum)
  4. Lollipop Chainsaw (98 hours played, all costumes collected)
  5. Rainbow Moon (202 hours played, platinum)

You’ll notice there is a very glaring lack of Square Enix games on this list. That’s because the current generation of Final Fantasy games, well, suck. Even though you can play Final Fantasy IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and IX on the PS3 via the Playstation Store (I bought and completed all of them), I did not include them in the list because they originally launched on earlier consoles and cannot be considered PS3 titles.

Congratulations to Namco Bandai and the Tales series on becoming my new favourite RPG series! Tales of Graces f is my most played PS3 game at a whopping 440 hours. That’s more than twice the time I spent on Skyrim! Tales of Xillia came very close to making the list, but ultimately I decided Rainbow Moon was more addictive.

Rainbow Moon is one of those rare gems that come along every once on a while and go by unnoticed. Well, I’m telling you right now. If you like strategy RPG, pick up Rainbow Moon, but be prepared to invest at least 100 hours to even finish the main storyline. Definitely the best and most worthwhile Playstation Store exclusive title on the PS3.

So for the time being, looks like I’m stuck farming achievement points in Guild Wars 2. Oh well. 1,400 achievement points to Radiant Helm!

4 responses to “End of an Era

  • monkeybrainsync

    I purchased “Rainbow Moon” today actually. So far, only a few hours into it, I have really enjoyed it and hope to continue playing hours more of the game in the days/weeks to come. I have been considering buying Tales of Grace f or Tales of Xillia for some time now. I may actually get Xillia during an upcoming black friday sale if I’m lucky that morning via gamestop. We shall see. But meantime, I have Rainbow Moon to keep me busy!

  • dustinwheat

    I loved those games… we shall give the playstation a proper burial

  • Celinda Bingamon

    info, but good topic. I needs to

  • theotakujudge

    Rest in peace PS3. I think it is worth getting a replacement even if the PS4 has just come out. Lots of good games to look forward to in 2014 such as Persona 5.

Leave a Reply

